Friday, August 5, 2011

Rejazz feat. Onejiru - Push Push

Since their debut album for INFRACom!'s 10th anniversary in 1992 [re:jazz] achieved an excellent reputation being one of the internationally most successful jazz acts out of Germany in the recent decade with -so far- more than 60.000 copies sold and more then 80 contributions to compilations worldwide.

On their past albums they used to colaborate with national and international known guests like Viktoria Tolstoy, Nils Petter Molvaer, Till Brönner, Erik Truffaz, Lisa Bassenge, Joy Denelane, Nathan Haines, akiko, Ultra Naté, Jhelisa Anderson, Lisa Bassenge, Ack von Royen, Nils Wogram, Thomas Siffling, Heinz-Dieter Sauerborn, Annemarie Roelofs, Axel Schlosser Christoph Auperle a.o.

The way [re:jazz] treats and re-works music has achieved such an enomous popularity that beside their own releases other well known artists like 4 Hero or Stephan Remmler asked them to rework a pieces of their music too.

They received remix treatments themself from heavyweight electronic producers like Bugge Wesseltoft, Nicola Conte, Swell Session, Akufen, Dublex Inc, Yukihiro Fukitomi, Jazztronik, Patchworks, Kiki Navarro, Christian Prommers Drumlesson, The Dynamics a.o.

Their second album "Point of View" released in 2004 was highly acclaimed by the press and followed by a successful clubtour and invitations to renowned jazz festival like Traumzeit, City Jazz Nights, Leverkusener Jazztage, Balaton Sound Festival, Jazzfest Vienna and others.

„Expansion“, the third album released in 2006, presents a new side of the the band. Besides awsome reinterpretations [re:jazz] released their first own compositions, fitting perfeclty into their [re:jazz] style.

In spring 2008 they returned with a brand new 2-disc release feat. their first live album recorded at the "Motion Blue yokohama" during their Japan tour.

Beside the live album there is a 90 minutes dvd documentary about [re:jazz] touring and performing live in Japan with interviews, statements from and about [re:jazz] to give you a closer image of the group itself. Combined with impressions from Japan and the wonderful people they met during their tour, the dvd is more then a pure concert dvd. It takes you on a journey with the band to Japan.

Their fourth and latest album "Nipponized" is released in autumn 2008. Together with the live album it rounds up the "little" Japan series of [re:jazz] and features re-interpretations of japanese club-music classics beside new compositions by [re:jazz].

The [re:jazz] band has seven members plus a technician: Inga Luehning (voc), Oliver Leicht (sax), Jan Stuermer(git), Matthias Vogt (p), Heiko Himmighoffen (perc), Andreas Manns (b), Volker Schmidt (dr). The band is formed exclusively of young and extremely gifted musicians. Their music puts a smile on the face of their audience.



No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.